In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Sweeping Motions.”

I like a nice, peaceful setting in my bedroom. I am also a little OCD about order and cleanliness. Just ask my family. It drives me crazy when things are out-of-place. The bedroom is nice and tidy but I do NOT make my bed. I mean really, what is the point? I am going to get back in it during nap time and night-night time so why the hell would I want to remake it several times a day.Seriously,  I have enough going on without worrying whether my feng shui will be disturbed by a wrinkled comforter.

Our desk, however, is another story. I would like to call it organized chaos. I agreed to have the desk moved from the back room to a main area only if it would be kept clean and pretty. This so did not happen. The poor desk has become a catch-all for everyone’s stuff, paperwork, bills, grocery receipts , lists, headphones, Disks, pens, gaming stuff, etc… I have a special needs child that must bring the entire house when he uses  the computer. He manages to fit that all on the desk and bring a yoga ball to sit and bounce on to his heart’s content.

I have to come and do a cleaning on this desk on a very regular basis so that we don’t have an episode of “Hoarders: Desk edition” This desk has become the bane of my existence.

As I also have some pretty severe ADD (real diagnosis not self-diagnosis) , I must have everything in a certain order and neatness. It may make no sense to others but I do have an order and I can find everything if asked. My family , especially the children, think it is funny to mess with me and move stuff around. Take a guess how that turns out? Ever seen the Exorcist?

So to answer the question…If you are looking for a peaceful meditation spot, it would be my bedroom NOT on my desk. 🙂

Leave a Reply

