Teen Age Idol

 

 

 

Did I have teen idols? I wouldn’t go right with idols because I am not much of a follower but I did have some bands that I followed pretty heavily. I was and am a big Led Zepplin music fan. I loved and still love the Doors, Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Smashing Pumpkins, Bush, Metallica(the original stuff, not the egotistical bullshit), Guns N’Roses(I did try to ignore the Spaghetti Incident for my own well being), Red Hot Chili Peppers, and a few others.

At the time, I was not really all that aware of the negative aspects of their lives and frankly, I probably didn’t give a shit because I was a pretty messed up kid. I related to the music. It matched my thoughts, emotions and life at the time. Maybe on some level I related to them as people because they were singing about what I was feeling.

It is funny how the shiny things you see in people often come from the ignorance of information. There are quite a few people on this list of music that did some pretty negative and harmful things to themselves as well as others. Now I listen to the music because I like it, but I understand that although there was some great music in there,I definitely wouldn’t want to idolize or emulate some of these artists.

 

Leave a Reply

